Chickpea Salad

This is going to be the first post in my series of recipes, for the vegan/vegetarians among you out there. I’m a vegetarian myself, but a lot of the recipes that I make are vegan, so I’ll tag them as such. I’m also a student: an undomesticated one: so don’t expect too much from these. Basically most of my recipes are the fast type of cooking, though if you are vegetarian or vegan and you’re a student, I really recommend making a big dish on a Sunday, and saving it for a few days, throwing it into your lunchbox 😉

Anyway, my chickpea salad!!

This is a really low-calorie meal, but that said, it fills you up all day. Plus it can be warmed up or eaten cold and tastes delicious. I modified it from a salad my mum found in a magazine one day…but this is different lol.

So for a serving for two:

Ingredients:

600g of chickpeas

1 onion/red onion

1 1/2 garlic clove

1 1/2 dessert spoons of balsamic vinegar (go out and buy it, students. It’s worth it)

1 dessert spoon olive oil/sunflower oil

half a teaspoon of wholegrain mustard (optional, but it tastes better)

Lemon juice and zest

Salt & Pepper

Step 1: Finely chop the garlic, put it in a bowl and add the salt and pepper, a couple shakes. Mash together

Step 2: Add the wholegrain mustard, the vinegar and the oil. Put to one side (this is the dressing).

Step 3: Chop up the onion into small cubes

Step 4: Heat the chickpeas in a saucepan (or leave cold if preferred). Drain off the juice with boiling water

Step5: Add the onion and lemon zest and juice (about 3 squeezes is usually perfect) to the chickpeas

Step 6: Stir in the dressing

Step 7: Heat if wanted

You’re all done! Perfect for winter days 🙂

Leave a Reply

